Thursday , April 18 2024

Jay Shah announces who will be Team India's coach Rahul Dravid in T20WC

BCCI Secretary Jay Shah confirmed that Rahul Dravid will remain India's head coach until the next T20 World Cup in June this year. Dravid's contract expired after the ODI World Cup final last year, but with no fixed tenure he was asked to continue in his role along with other support staff for the December–January tour of South Africa.

Jai Shah said this about Dravid

However, Jay Shah has now said that he had held preliminary discussions with Dravid before deciding to retain the services of former captain Rahul Dravid until the upcoming ICC tournaments in the West Indies and the US. Shah said in the naming ceremony of Saurashtra Cricket Association that after the 2023 World Cup, Rahul Dravid will have to immediately leave for South Africa tour. It became possible now that we could not live together.

No need to worry about Dravid

Jay Shah said, 'Why are you worried about the contract of a senior person like Rahul Dravid? Rahul Dravid will remain the coach in the T20 World Cup. However, Shah indicated that he would hold several rounds of discussions before the important event. He further said, 'Whenever I get time, I will talk to him, right now back to back series is going on. They were in South Africa, then the home series against Afghanistan and now the ongoing series against England. In such a situation, we do not get time to talk much.

Strict notice to IPL franchise

Jay Shah said that IPL franchises will have to follow the workload management guidelines set by the BCCI for centrally contracted players. He said, 'This is the order of BCCI. BCCI is the supreme body and whatever decision it takes, the franchise will have to follow it, we are above the franchise.

Rohit Sharma will be T20 captain

In the same program, Jay Shah announced that India will play under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma in the T20 World Cup to be held in America and West Indies in June this year. Shah made this address in the presence of Sunil Gavaskar, Anil Kumble, IPL Chairman Arun Singh Dhumal. Chief selector Ajit Agarkar, coach Rahul Dravid, Rohit Sharma himself, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Mohammad Siraj were also present during this program.