Friday , June 14 2024

Los Elections: Reputation of three sitting BJP MPs at stake in first phase

Meerut, 18 April (HS). The bugle has sounded for the first phase of Lok Sabha elections and on April 19, voters will decide the fate of the candidates. The reputation of three sitting BJP MPs is at stake in this election. BJP left no stone unturned in campaigning to win all the eight seats.

Polling parties have reached the polling stations for the first phase of voting to be held on Friday, April 19. In the first phase, elections are being held on eight seats in Western Uttar Pradesh. These include Saharanpur, Muzaffarnagar, Kairana, Bijnor, Nagina, Moradabad, Rampur and Pilibhit. Like many previous elections, this time too the first phase of Lok Sabha elections is starting from Western Uttar Pradesh. In such a situation, political analysts across the country are keeping an eye on the environment being created here. The BJP, which swept the opposition in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, lost many of its seats in the 2019 elections. BJP has made it a matter of prestige to make lotus bloom again on those lost seats in 2024. Along with this, the reputation of three sitting BJP MPs is also at stake. Union Minister Dr. Sanjeev Balyan is contesting elections from Muzaffarnagar seat for the third time. The path of Dr. Sanjeev Balyan, who defeated RLD President Ajit Singh in 2019, seems difficult this time. BJP has again fielded Kairana's sitting MP Pradeep Chaudhary. It remains a challenge for them to win again. Ghanshyam Lodhi, who won the by-election from Rampur Lok Sabha seat, is also contesting again on BJP ticket. It is not easy for him to win amid the Azam Khan factor.

Chandan Chauhan is the NDA candidate from RLD quota on Bijnor seat. BSP's Vijendra Singh and SP's Deepak Saini are challenging him. The election contest on Nagina seat is becoming a four-cornered one. There is a direct contest between BJP candidate Om Kumar, SP's Manoj Kumar, Azad Samaj Party's Chandrashekhar and BSP candidate. In Moradabad, BJP has again placed its bet on former MP Kunwar Sarvesh. Ruchi Veera of SP and Muslim candidate of BSP are contesting in front of him. Congress's Imran Masood and BSP candidates are in the fray against BJP's Raghav Lakhanpal from Saharanpur. The election contest is interesting as there is no candidate from Gandhi family on Pilibhit seat. BJP has fielded UP cabinet minister Jitin Prasad as its candidate, while Bhagwat Saran Gangwar of SP and Anees Ahmed of BSP are contesting the elections.