Tuesday , July 23 2024

Babar Azam achieved a special achievement, left Mahendra Singh Dhoni behind

Florida, June 17 (HS). Babar Azam has surpassed former Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni to become the batsman who has scored the most runs as a captain in the history of T20 World Cup.

Babar played a key role in Pakistan's final group-stage match against Ireland in Florida on Sunday, scoring an unbeaten 32 off 34 balls.

While chasing a target of 107 runs, he held one end and played a key role in Pakistan's 3 wicket victory.

Babar now has 549 runs in 17 innings as captain in the T20 World Cup. Earlier, Dhoni held the record by scoring 529 runs in 29 innings. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson can also surpass the former Indian captain. He is just two runs behind Dhoni's 529 runs and can surpass him in the Kiwis' next match against Papua New Guinea on Monday. While Babar broke the record with his bat, his star fast bowler Shaheen Shah Afridi, who was named Player of the Match for his match-winning all-round performance, also created history.

Shaheen took three wickets for 22 runs at an economy of 5.50 in his four-over spell. In the final moments of the thrilling match, he hit two sixes to give Pakistan a victory.

This was the third time Shaheen received the Player of the Match award for Pakistan in the T20 World Cup. Now he has equaled former fast bowler Umar Gul for winning the most Player of the Match awards for Pakistan in this prestigious event. Shaheen's father-in-law and former Pakistan captain Shahid Afridi holds the record for winning the most four Player of the Match awards for Pakistan in the T20 World Cup.

Talking about the match, after losing 6 wickets for just 32 runs at one point, Ireland scored 106 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs thanks to the valuable contributions of Gareth Delany (31) and Joshua Little (22*). In response, Pakistan's batting once again collapsed like a house of cards and the team lost 6 wickets for 62 runs. From here, Babar (32 not out) along with Abbas Afridi (17) and Shaheen Shaheen Shah Afridi (13 not out) gave Pakistan a three-wicket victory in 18.5 overs.