Friday , June 14 2024

Sonia Gandhi and Ashwini Vaishnav were elected unopposed on 41 Rajya Sabha seats

New Delhi: Forty-one candidates, including former Congress president Sonia Gandhi, BJP national president JP Nadda, recently inducted Ashok Chavan and Union ministers Ashwini Vaishnav and Murugan, were elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha on Tuesday. Whereas in Uttar Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh and Karnataka, the outline for elections on 27th February has been prepared.

At the same time, 56 seats in the biennial Rajya Sabha elections were announced on 27 February. However, he has been declared the winner unopposed as no other candidate contested on 41 seats, with the highest number being 20 from BJP, 6 from Congress, 4 from Trinamool Congress, 3 from YSR Congress, 2 from RJD, 2 from BJD. And belong to NCP, Shiv Sena, BRS and JDU. (U) Each – Consists of one member.

Now voting will be held on 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh, four in Karnataka and one in Himachal Pradesh from 9 am to 4 pm and the results will be declared at 5 pm on the same day. 50 members of Rajya Sabha are going to retire on 2nd April and 6 members are going to retire on 3rd April.

In Rajasthan, Sonia Gandhi and BJP's Chunnilal Garasia and Madan Rathod have been elected unopposed.

Similarly, in Maharashtra, all six candidates including BJP's Ashok Chavan, Medha Kulkarni and Ajid Gopchade, Shiv Sena's Milind Deora, Praful Patel (NCP) and Congress's Chandrakant Handore have also been elected unopposed. In Bihar, JDU's Sanjay Kumar Jha, BJP's Dharamsheela Gupta and Bhim Singh, RJD's Manoj Kumar Jha and Sanjay Yadav and Congress's Akhilesh Prasad Singh have been declared winners.

There are 11 candidates in the fray for 10 seats in Uttar Pradesh. BJP has fielded eight candidates including former Union Minister RPN Singh, former MP Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, Amarpal Maurya, Sangeeta Balwant, Sudhanshu Trivedi.

Apart from this, SP has again nominated Jaya Bachchan and former MP Ramjilal Suman and retired IAS officer Alok Ranjan have also been made candidates.

Five candidates are contesting on four seats in Karnataka. Here Congress has fielded Ajay Maken, Syed Naseer Hussain and GC Chandrashekhar. Narayanasa Bandage is the BJP candidate while JDS is also fielding D Kupendra Reddy as Rajya Sabha member. In Himachal Pradesh, BJP has fielded Harsh Mahajan against Congress candidate Manu Singhvi.