Amravati : Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jaganmohan Reddy has reconstituted his cabinet and all 25 ministers took oath on Monday.

Governor Biswa Bhushan Harichandan administered the oath of office and secrecy to the members of the revised cabinet at a function held near the state secretariat and attended by YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) leaders and workers and senior officials. Eleven of those sworn-in have been part of the cabinet before June 2019, while the rest are fresh faces. Ambati Rambabu was the first to take the oath. Adimalupu Suresh, Usha Sricharan and Pedireddy Ramachandreddy took oath in English, while all others completed formalities in Telugu.

The fourteen new ministers are Dharmana Prasad Rao, P Rajanna Dora, Gudivada Amarnath, Buddi Muthyala Naidu, Dadishetty Raja, Karumuri Nageswara Rao, Kittu Satyanarayana, Jogi Ramesh, Ambati Rambabu, Meraga Nagarjuna, Vidadala Rajani, Kakani Govardhanreddy, RK Roja and Usha Sricharan.

Botsa Satyanarayana, Peddireddy Ramachandreddy, Narayanaswamy, Bugna Rajendranath, Gummanooru Jayaram, Sidiri Appalaraju, Pinipe Vishwaroopam, Cheluboina Venugopalkrishna, Teneti Vanitha, Amjad Basha and Adimalupu Suresh had served as ministers in the previous cabinet.

After taking oath, Gudivada took knee in front of Amarnath and Jogi Ramesh Jagan Reddy and thanked him. Actor-turned-politician RK Roja and first-time women ministers V Rajini and Usha Sreecharan touched the Chief Minister’s feet while Usha Sreecharan blessed him. When the names of the ministers were announced for the swearing-in, their supporters applauded loudly. Forming his first cabinet in June 2019, Jagan Reddy had promised to rebuild it in half of his term.

All the 24 ministers submitted their resignations to the chief minister on 7 April so that he could reconstitute the cabinet. One post was vacant due to the death of Mekapati Gowtham Reddy in February. The chief minister had said in the cabinet meeting that the sacked ministers would be given responsibility in the party so that their experience could be used to ensure the party’s victory in the 2024 elections.

Scheduled Castes (SC), Scheduled Tribes (ST) and Backward Classes (BC) have got a major share in the revised cabinet. A total of 16 ministers out of 25 are from SC (5), ST (1) and BC (11). In the previous cabinet there were 13 members (5 SC, 1 ST and 7 BC) in these sections. Amjad Basha remained the sole representative of the minorities. The representation of other castes (OCs) has come down to 8 from the earlier 11.

The number of women ministers has also increased from three in the previous cabinet to four. The YSRCP returned to power in 2019 by winning 151 seats in the 175-member assembly. Jagan Reddy formed the cabinet with 25 ministers. In 2020, two of them, Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose and R Mopidevi Venkataraman, resigned after being elected to the Rajya Sabha. He was replaced by Venugopalkrishna and Appalaraju. The strength of the state cabinet, including the chief minister, stood at 26, which is the maximum strength of the council of ministers.

S.No. minister’s name district OC-Reddy
1. Dharmana Prasad Rao Srikakulam velama
2. Sidiri Appalaraju Srikakulam Matskar:
3. Botsa Satyanarayan Vizianagaram Kapu
4. rajannadora parvathipuram scheduled tribe
5. Gudivada Amarnathi anakapalli Kapu
6. Budi Mutyala Naidu anakapalli koppula velama
7. dadishetty king Kakinada Kapu
8. Pinipe Vishwaroop Konaseema scheduled tribe
9. Cheluboina Venugopal Krishna Konaseema BC- Shetty Balija
10. Teneti Vanita East Godavari sc-madiga
1 1 Karumuri Nageswara Rao West Godavari BC-Yadav
12. Kottu Satyanarayan West Godavari Kapu
13. Jogi Ramesh Dark woman BC-God
14. Ambati Rambabu Palnadu Kapu
15. meruga nagarjuna Bapatla scheduled caste
16. Vidadala Rajni Palnadu B.C
17. Kakani Govardhan Reddy Nellore OC-Reddy
18. amzath basha Kadapa Minority
19. Bugna Rajendranath Reddy Nandyal OC-Reddy
20. Gummanuru Jayaram Kurnool oc-buoy
21. Peddireddy Ramachandra Reddy Chittor OC-Reddy
22. Narayan Swami Chittor scheduled caste
23. RK Rosa Chittor OC-Reddy
24. Ushashree Charan Anantapuram BC-Kuruma
25. Adimulapu Suresh Prakasam scheduled caste