The results of the by-elections for one Lok Sabha and four assembly seats have been declared. BJP candidates have lost in all the four states. Shatrughan Sinha has won from Asansol Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal and Babul Supriyo has won from Ballygunge assembly seat. On the other hand, RJD candidate Amar Paswan has won from Bochan seat in Bihar. Congress candidate Jayshree Jadhav won the Kohlapur North assembly seat in Maharashtra by a margin of over 18,000 votes. Counting of votes is going on in Khairgarh assembly seat of Chhattisgarh.

RJD workers celebrate outside the counting center of victory in Bochahan, Bihar.

After winning the assembly elections, TMC candidate Babul Supriyo said that Mamata Banerjee guided us to work on the ground. Our party workers worked hard in every corner. He also blamed fuel prices for the BJP’s defeat. Babul said that today people have destroyed the pride of BJP. BJP’s policies are anti-national. The credit for the victory goes to Mamata Banerjee.

Babul Supriyo got 50 Thousand 722 votes. He won by 9,904 votes. The CPI(M) candidate came second. He got 30,818 votes while BJP candidate came third. The BJP candidate got 12,967 votes.