Mumbai: Delhi Capitals (DC) won the toss and elected to bowl in the 27th match of the Indian Premier League (IPL) against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at the Wankhede Stadium here on Saturday.

Harshal Patel has returned to RCB while Mitchell Marsh will make his Delhi Capitals debut.

At the time of the toss, RCB captain Faf du Plessis said, “The pitch is looking a little dirtier than expected. Chennai had two quality batsmen, looking no further than that, putting up a great partnership there. Breaking the overs in the middle is something we talked about and just the combination of bowlers. It’s an obvious thing when you come here, you look at the small and the big side, it’s always deftly how well or how badly you play the small and big boundaries. Tonight is not going to be any different. Harshal Patel is back which is great. He is a seasoned X-Factor player. Akash Deep is out of the team.”

On the other hand, DC skipper Rishabh Pant said, “We would love to bowl first. The wicket is looking on the dry side, we want to use that. Mitch falls for Sarfaraz Khan. It hasn’t been decided yet, maybe it’s ‘I’ll bat three and bat four’. Have faith in this process and take one match at a time and give your 100%. Hopefully we will be able to capitalize on the smaller team.”


Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Faf du Plessis (c), Anuj Rawat, Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, Shahbaz Ahmed, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Suyash Prabhudesai, Vanindu Hasranga, Harshal Patel, Josh Hazlewood, Mohammad Siraj

Delhi Capitals (Playing XI): Prithvi Shaw, David Warner, Mitchell Marsh, Rishabh Pant (w/c), Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Kuldeep Yadav, Mustafizur Rahman, Khaleel Ahmed