hockey india men national cship 2022 _ bhopal_131

Bhopal, April 6 (H.S.). The prestigious 12th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship 2022 began in Bhopal, Madhya Pradesh on Wednesday. In this 12-day tournament, 28 teams will fight for the title.

In the previous edition of the tournament, Hockey Punjab won the tournament by defeating Uttar Pradesh Hockey in a thrilling shootout, while Hockey Karnataka finished third after defeating Hockey Maharashtra 5–2 in the third/fourth place match.

This year’s defending champions Hockey Punjab have been placed in Pool A along with Hockey Rajasthan and Delhi Hockey. Pool B consists of Uttar Pradesh, Telangana and Chhattisgarh. While Pool C consists of Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh and Uttarakhand, Pool D has teams from Maharashtra, Bihar and Kerala.

Chandigarh has been clubbed with Jharkhand, Jammu and Kashmir, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu in Pool E.

Bengal, Puducherry, Gujarat and Arunachal are in Pool F, while in Pool G, Hockey Unit of Tamil Nadu, Manipur, Madhya Pradesh and Hockey Himachal have been clubbed together. In Pool H, Hockey Haryana will face Hockey Association of Odisha, Assam Hockey and Goa Hockey.

The tournament will be closely watched by the Hockey India national selectors where the top performers will get a chance to find a place in the national program for the Indian men’s hockey team.