ISLAMABAD, APRIL 16 (HUS). After the change of power in Pakistan, former Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf has been given the command as the new speaker in the National Assembly. Meanwhile, National Assembly Deputy Speaker Qasim Khan Suri has also resigned.

After the rejection of the no-confidence motion against former Prime Minister Imran Khan, the then President of the National Assembly Asad Qaiser resigned instead of implementing the Supreme Court’s directives by convening a meeting of the National Assembly again. A special session of the National Assembly was called on Saturday to appoint a new speaker and move a no-confidence motion against Deputy Speaker Qasim Khan Suri. In this session, only Pakistan Peoples Party leader Raja Pervez Ashraf’s nomination was filed for the new speaker. He has also been the Prime Minister of Pakistan.

Nominations were to be made for the Speaker’s post by 12 noon on Saturday, but due to the filing of the only nomination till this period, 71-year-old Pervez Ashraf was elected unopposed as Speaker. The issue of bringing a no-confidence motion against Deputy Speaker Qasim Khan Suri was also included in the agenda of Saturday’s National Assembly session. Suri was at this time serving as the Acting Speaker of the National Assembly. He resigned even before the no-confidence motion against Suri could come. Suri is a member of Imran Khan’s party Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). He had refused to vote for the new prime minister.