New Delhi: Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan was ousted from power on Saturday in a high-octane political drama. Khan lost power and his term ended hours before dawn on Sunday as a no-confidence motion against him filed by the opposition coalition succeeded after a majority of the National Assembly members voted against him. Now that Imran has lost the no-confidence motion, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) president and Leader of the Opposition Shahbaz Sharif may replace Khan as the country’s prime minister. Shahbaz is the younger brother of former Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif. It was he who moved a no-confidence motion against Khan’s government in the National Assembly on March 28.


Who is Shahbaz Sharif

Gestures of Pakistan’s opposition leader Shahbaz Sharif speaking during a press conference in Islamabad on April 1, 2022.

Who is Shahbaz Sharif?

  1. Shahbaz Sharif is the President of Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N).
  2. He was born in 1950 in Lahore to a Punjabi-speaking Kashmiri industrialist family and is the younger brother of former Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif.
  3. He is a graduate of Government College University, Lahore. Sharif became the President of the Lahore Chamber of Commerce and Industries in 1985.
  4. The president of the PML-N also served as the chief minister of Punjab province for three terms – 1997, 2008 and 2013.
  5. He had to leave Pakistan in 1999 after a coup led by General Pervez Musharraf and lived in exile in Saudi Arabia for eight years.
  6. He was first elected to the Punjab Provincial Assembly in 1988 and to the National Assembly in 1990. He again contested the provincial elections in 1993 and became the Leader of the Opposition in the Punjab Legislative Assembly.
  7. Shahbaz Sharif was arrested by the National Accountability Bureau (NAB) in September 2020 as he faces serious corruption charges. According to reports, Shahbaz has good relations with the Pakistani Army.
  8. Nawaz entered the national political scene when he became the head of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) party in 2017 after he was found guilty of hiding assets related to the Panama Papers disclosures.