Islamabad: Proceedings of Pakistan’s National Assembly were adjourned early Sunday and the House will meet again at 2 pm on April 11 to elect a new prime minister after Prime Minister Imran Khan was removed from office via a no-confidence vote. According to Ayaz Sadiq of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz, who is presiding over the crucial session, nomination papers for the new prime minister can be submitted by 2 pm on Sunday and scrutiny will be done by 3 pm.


Sadiq called a session of the National Assembly at 11 a.m. on Monday and said a new prime minister would then be elected. However, later the National Assembly of Pakistan informed on its official Twitter account that the meeting of the House would be held at 2 pm. “The National Assembly will meet again on Monday, 11th April 2022 at 2:00 PM instead of 11:00 PM,” it tweeted.


Earlier, Sadiq was nominated by Speaker Asad Qaiser to preside over the session after the leader of Imran Khan’s party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), announced that he would step down as he would not continue. Can keep Sadiq immediately began the voting process.


No-confidence motion against Imran Khan government

The united opposition – a rainbow of socialist, liberal and fundamentally religious parties – garnered the support of 174 members in the 342-member National Assembly, more than the required strength of 172 to oust Prime Minister Imran Khan in a drama-filled day. Was. Multiple adjournments of the lower house.

No prime minister in the history of Pakistan has ever been ousted through a no-confidence motion. Khan is the first prime minister whose fate was decided through a trust vote. Also, no Pakistani prime minister has completed a five-year term in office.

Khan, 69, was not present in the lower house at the time of voting. MPs from his party staged a walkout during the voting. However, disgruntled PTI members remained present in the House and sat on government benches. Khan’s removal has expedited the process of electing a new leader of the House.

The united opposition has already nominated PML-N president Shehbaz Sharif as the joint candidate to replace Imran Khan as the new prime minister of Pakistan.