Fatehpur, April 07 (H.S.). Angry over the incident of sending three journalists to jail by the Ballia district administration in the UP Board paper leak case on Thursday, members of the District Journalists Association protested in the Collectorate with a black band in their arm and demanded the release of the arrested journalists in Ballia district.

On behalf of the District Journalists Association/Association, today by submitting a five-point addressed memorandum to the Governor, demanding the early release of the journalists of Ballia district and dismissal of the District Magistrate and Superintendent of Police of Ballia district. Journalists also raised slogans of Murdabad against the Ballia administration.

Hundreds of journalists from across the district, under the leadership of District President Ajay Bhadauria, protested by tying black bands from the District Journalists Association/Association office located at Naveen Market in the city headquarters at around 10.30 am today. Along with this, the journalists raised slogans against the Ballia district administration and reached the Collectorate premises and submitted a memorandum addressed to the Honorable Governor and Chief Minister to District Magistrate Apoorva Dubey.

Hundreds of journalists along with District President Ajay Bhadauria demanded that three journalists Ajit Ojha, Digvijay Singh and Manoj Gupta, who were arrested in the board exam paper leak case, should be released soon, otherwise a movement would be started by journalists in the entire state.

Association’s District President Ajay Singh Bhadauria said that the increasing incidents of journalist harassment should be curbed immediately. Also demanded the implementation of “Security Act” for the safety of journalists.

He said that after identifying the journalists and social media journalists of rural areas in the state, orders should be issued to prepare identity cards for the journalists by the District Information Officer. The arrest of journalists is reprehensible and despicable, the less it is condemned. The state government is not even sparing the fourth pillar of the country. If the Ballia administration does not release the journalists soon, the journalists will be forced to take to the streets and agitate.

On this occasion Avnish Singh Chauhan, Raisuddin Siddiqui, Irshad Siddiqui, Jitendra Vishwakarma, Malay Pandey, Ranu Mishra, Armaan Khan, Ashish Singh, Sandeep Shukla, Praveen Singh, Shriram Agnihotri, Vimlesh Kumar, Rishabh Umrao, Bhim Singh, Bablu Singh, Anoop Tiwari, Kumud Tiwari, Dhirendra Bajpai, Anshu Bajpai, Abhilash Dixit, Shivkumar, Durgesh Kumar Pandey, Shoaib Ahmed, Amit Srivastava, Arun Sharma and other journalists were present.