Friday , June 14 2024

Kutch Lok Sabha seat: Winning Kutch Lok Sabha seat is like a dream for Congress!

Kutch Lok Sabha seat: Lok Sabha elections will be held in the month of April 2024. The date of Lok Sabha elections 2024 may also be announced soon. Now before the date of Lok Sabha elections is announced, know who dominates the Kutch Lok Sabha seat and which party used to win this seat in history…

It is noteworthy that Kutch Lok Sabha seat is one of the 26 Lok Sabha seats of Gujarat. Kutch Lok Sabha seat is the third largest Lok Sabha seat in India with an area of ​​45,652 km2. Which is bigger than Denmark.

At present, Kutch Lok Sabha constituency consists of seven assembly seats- 1) Abdasa, 2) Mandvi, 3) Bhuj, 4) Anjar, 5) Gandhidham, 6) Rapar and 7) Morbi. BJP party MLAs have also been elected on these seven assembly seats. Due to which it is impossible for Congress to win the Kutch Lok Sabha seat and the margin of victory on this seat is also quite high. Looking at these figures, it would be wise for Congress not to field a candidate on this seat.

If we look at the history of Kutch Lok Sabha seat, in the Lok Sabha elections of 1952 and 1957, Bhawanji Arjun Khimji of Congress, Himmat Singhji of Swatantra Party, Tulsidas M Sheth and Mahipatarai Mehta of Congress were elected from this seat in 1962. In the Lok Sabha elections of 1967 and 1971 respectively, Anant Dave of Janata Party was elected in 1977, Mahipatarai Mehta of Congress in 1980, Usha Thakar of Congress in 1984, Babubhai Shah of BJP in 1989 and Harilal Nanji Patel of Congress in 1991 were elected. After that Congress could never win this seat. BJP's Pushpadan Gadhvi was elected in the Lok Sabha and Lok Sabha by-elections of 1996, 1998, 1999, 2004. Poonambane Jat was elected in 2009 and in the 2014 and 2019 Lok Sabha elections, BJP's Vinod Chavda won from Kutch seat.

In the last Lok Sabha elections, BJP was the leading party in terms of total votes received by the candidates and vote share of the party with 62.26% vote share, BJP's Vinod Lakhmashi Chavda got 6,37,034 votes. Whereas Congress's Naresh Naranbhai Maheshwari had to be satisfied with only 3,31,521 votes. Compared to the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, BJP's vote share in Kutch seat increased by 2.86% in 2019 while Congress's vote share decreased by 0.15%.