Tuesday , June 18 2024

Campaign quiet on 102 Lok Sabha seats: Voting on 19th

Under the first phase of Lok Sabha elections in the country, voting will be held on 102 seats in 21 states and union territories on April 19. The election campaign on these seats has ended this evening. On the final day of election campaigning, the BJP-led NDA and the alliance of India's opposition parties made all-out efforts to woo voters.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi led the BJP's campaign in the constituencies where voting is to be held in the first phase. He addressed many rallies and also did road shows. Apart from Prime Minister Modi, ministers including Union Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh also campaigned.

Congress leaders including Rahul Gandhi and party president Mallikarjun Kharge campaigned. It is noteworthy that if we look at the 2019 election results on 102 seats in the first phase, UPA had won 45 seats and NDA had won 41 seats.

On April 19, voting will be held on all 39 seats of Tamil Nadu, 12 of Rajasthan, 8 of Uttar Pradesh, 6 of Madhya Pradesh, 5 of Assam, 5 of Maharashtra, 5 of Uttarakhand, 4 of Bihar, 3 of West Bengal, 2 of Manipur. . Voting is to be held on 2 seats of Arunachal Pradesh, 2 of Meghalaya, 1 of Andaman and Nicobar, 1 of Mizoram, 1 of Nagaland, 1 of Puducherry, 1 of Sikkim, 1 of Lakshadweep, 1 of Tripura, 1 of Jammu and Kashmir. 1 of Chhattisgarh.

Voting is to be held on April 19 under the first phase in Naxal-affected Bastar in Chhattisgarh. For this, strict security arrangements have been made in entire Bastar.

On the last day of election campaigning in Tamil Nadu, DMK leader and Chief Minister Stalin termed this election as another freedom movement. Congress leader Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and Samajwadi Party president Akhilesh Yadav addressed rallies in Saharanpur and Moradabad respectively in Uttar Pradesh.

In Jammu and Kashmir, Prime Minister Modi assured the people of the state to hold assembly elections and give them statehood. Amit Shah also said that the assembly elections will be held before the Supreme Court's deadline of September 30.