Wednesday , July 17 2024

A seven-member delegation including the chairman of the US House Foreign Affairs Committee reached Dharamshala

Dharamshala, June 18 (HS). A seven-member delegation led by US House Foreign Affairs Committee Chairman Michael McCaul reached Dharamshala on Tuesday. This delegation will remain in Dharamshala for two days. On the second day of its visit, on Wednesday morning, this delegation will meet Tibetan spiritual leader Dalai Lama.

The delegation that reached Dharamshala was warmly welcomed at the airport by representatives of the Tibetan government in exile and a large number of people from the Tibetan community. On the first day of their tour, as soon as the delegation reached McLeod Ganj from the airport, they were welcomed there too. On reaching McLeod Ganj, the members of the delegation visited the museum and library along with the exiled Tibetan Parliament. During this, Prime Minister of the exiled Tibetan government Penpa Tsering and his cabinet colleagues were also present.

Earlier, while addressing the media at Gaggal Airport, the delegation chairman Michael McCall said that I am very happy to come to Dharamshala. The people here are very great because the religious leader Dalai Lama lives with them. He has come here to see and meet His Holiness the Dalai Lama and it will be a great opportunity to meet and see him.

He said that many other issues including the recently passed bill on Tibet in the US Congress will be discussed during this time. He said that the United States always stands with Tibet. He said that this bill has been passed by both the houses and now soon US President Joe Biden will also sign the bill. Nancy Pelosi, who was the president of the former US government, is also present during this time. In the evening, a Tibetan cultural program will be held for the delegation in the auditorium at Tippa.

members of the delegation

The US Congressional delegation included US Congressman and Chairman of the House Foreign Affairs Committee Michael McCaul, former Speaker Nancy Pelosi, Speaker Emerita Mariannette Miller-Meeks, Gregory Meeks, Ranking Member and Members of the House Foreign Affairs Committee Nicole Malliotakis, Jim McGovern, and Ami Bera.