New Delhi: The auspicious festival of Chaitra Navratri began on April 2 this year and will end with Ram Navami on April 10. During Navratri, nine different forms of Nava Durga Maa are worshipped.

Maa Kalratri is worshiped on the seventh day of Navratri:

On the 7th day of Navratri, Goddess Kalratri, also known as Kalratri, is worshipped. Goddess Kalratri is considered to be one of the many destructive forms of Maa Shakti which includes Kali, Mahakali, Bhadrakali, Bhairavi, Mrityu, Rudrani, Chamunda, Chandi and Durga.


Often Kali and Kalratri are used interchangeably but the two deities are different respectively.

Chant Maa Kalratri Mantra:

Om Devi Kalratryai Namah.
Om Devi Kalratrayai Namah

Maa Kalratri Prayer:


Ekaveni Japakarna Poorna Kharastha.
Lambosthi Karnikakarni oiled body
Vampadolsaloh LattakVidhan.
vardhan murdhdhwaja krishna kaalratri.bhayankari॥

Ekveni Japakarnapura Nangana Kharastita.
Lamboshthi Karnikakarni Tailbhayakta Sharirini॥
Vampdollsalloh Latakantakbhushan.
Vardhan Murdhadhwaj Krishna Kalratribhayankari॥


(Mantra as told in Drikpanchang.com)

Goddess Kalratri:

Goddess Kalratri is considered the most fierce form of Durga, and her presence often invokes a sense of awe. She is the destroyer of all demons, ghosts, spirits and negative energies, which vanish upon learning of her arrival.

Kalratri is also associated with Mukut Chakra (Sahasrara Chakra). that believer achievements and funds that is, bestows with knowledge, power and wealth.

Also called Shubhankari which means auspicious in Sanskrit, she is said to give auspicious and positive results to her devotees, making them fearless. They are also known as Raudri and Dhumorna.

His weapons include the bowed thunderbolt and curved sword, abhayamudra and varadamudra. He is mounted on a donkey, lion or tiger according to various legends.

Happy Navratri to all!